From the Eyes OF…Roy Mauritsen, from paintbrush to keyboard

By AK DALE

WERZOMBIES PRESS

LONG ISLAND, N.Y. –  If a person believes in fairy tales then it may behoove them to take a glance at the life of Roy Mauritsen.

The Long Island native’s story isn’t of an underdog making it big – not yet anyway – or someone surviving huge adversity to better this life – well not that we know of.

Believing in Mauritsen means you have made the acquaintance of a long-time graphic artist and newly published author.

A man of fairy tales.

“Fairy tales are getting pretty popular right now in film and television,” Mauritsen said. “That’s with the success of Once Upon A Time on ABC, Hollywood embracing almost two dozen fairy tale related movie projects over the next couple of years. I’m happy my book Shards of The Glass Slipper is out at this time.”

Shards of the Glass Slipper is the first writing effort for a man who has worked as a graphic artist for 20 years. Mauritsen says he has been creating since “I could pick up a crayon” and has “always written stories.” Yet, it took a concept born in 2006 and eventually launched in 2007 to bring words to the forefront.

That book now complements his long standing art series, Chesspieces.

His genesis as an author came from discussions with many of his fellow creative minds that only spoke of, but never delivered on their promises.

“As a writer, the main drive was to be the guy that didn’t sit around and talk about writing that cool novel, but to actually do it,” Mauritsen said. “I wanted to lead by example, if I can write and publish a novel, then other people could. I am an artist and all-around creative type person. I enjoy the challenge of creating. Most people don’t work in a field they love, but I’ve no complaints; I get paid to create and come up with stuff every day and I’ve made a decent living from it.”

Artistic impression is just that, but to transition from paint brush to keyboard, or pen and paper, is still one that would take time to master.

Shards of the Glass Slipper is the first novel by Long Island’s Roy Mauritsen (submitted art)

“As an artist the stories, themes and inspiration are always there, but the challenge for me was leaving my comfort zone of color, composition and toolset, for things like punctuation, verb agreements and tracked changes in MS Word,” Mauritsen said. “Artistically it’s okay to make mistakes. But not in writing so It was discipline I had to learn. I’m still learning. It’s a very left brain process for a creative right brainer like me. However, I was able to use my art to help explore my stories and characters, a process that helped me mentally visualize things as I wrote certain scenes. Or other scenes I wrote would help inspire some art. It worked both ways. But the whole process of writing the novel took me well out of my comfort zone.”

Mauritsen has learned how to embrace the special moments that come from his art and sharing it with others while dealing with some of the pitfalls.

“The most rewarding aspect is when people get excited about something I create, when something I did inspires them,” he said. “The most unattractive aspects of my work is the writing part – the first round of corrections on the manuscript. It reminds why I’ve been an artist all these years and not a writer!”

But his want to pursue his goals was aided by the enthusiasm and support of an old mentor.

“My junior high school art teacher I will always give credit to,” Mauritsen said. “That was a rough time for me growing up and the art department was my sanctuary. Mrs. Kaskoun taught me a lot about art and she was big into the sci-fi and fantasy. She wore the long Dr. Who scarf back before Dr. Who was well known.”

The only child from a broken home on the Island, Mauritsen works also as a photographer and creating and producing TV commercials broadcast in the Northeast of the United States.

In the future Mauritsen plans to release a short story, Norman’s Ark, via a Padwolf

Publishing anthology called “Apocalypse 13.” He also aims to release some Shards related short stories for a future Padwolf anthology planned for the first quarter of next year.

Here is an example of Roy Mauritsen’s art work from Chessboards (submitted art)

“Two more novels are planned to finish the Shards story arc as well as a follow up collection of short stories titled Tales of the Glass Slipper,” Mauritsen said. “I’m also supposed to develop a book to showcase my Chesspieces artwork.”

He also has some illustrations set for Chess Life Magazine, and creating, redoing, and updating most of the book covers in Padwolf’s catalog for future e-book and re-release.

“So if you’re a fan of fairy tales and epic fantasy adventure, I hope you’ll like my book,” Mauritsen said. “Using an ensemble cast of fairy tale characters in an epic adventure quest, it pulls a lot of details and reference from well over a dozen fairy tales. It takes one of the most

recognizable fairy tale characters, Cinderella, and makes her into a villainous evil queen was just the start.”

Where to find information on Roy Mauritsen and his works

Roy’s Website

 Padwolf Publishing

Shards of the Glass Slipper Facebook and Amazon

Shards of the Glass Slipper book trailer

WERZOMBIES Press thanks you for taking the time to read about our special guest here today. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press  hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!


One response to “From the Eyes OF…Roy Mauritsen, from paintbrush to keyboard

Leave a Reply

