From the EYES Of…Leigh M. Lane, keeping sane amongst the insanity

If she isn’t creating her own world she will probably be reading plenty of other independent authors’ works (courtesy photo)

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES Press

MONTANA – She is like a train engine.

Leigh M. Lane creates with the same intensity, heat, and power of one of man’s greatest inventions of transportation.

That makes sense when a speculative fiction author like Lane penetrates the senses of a reader that decides to pick up one of her works.

“I write to remain sane,” Lane said. “Words and ideas build in my head like steam builds in a heated kettle.  The release is not a choice; it is a necessity.  Moreover, I write because the thematic undertones to my work are those this world needs to hear.  It is my purpose to change this world . . . one book at a time.”

With so much craziness permeating the senses via the news engulfing the world today, finding one’s own passage to living in this world sounds just right and for someone like Lane, it appears to be paying dividends, if for any other reason, personal advancement and the betterment of others.

“I won’t be completely satisfied until I’m well beyond living off Ramen noodles and spaghetti most weeks out of the month, but for where I’m at right now, I’ll take the sacrifice,” Lane said. “I will feel completely successful once I’ve begun to make enough money to spread the wealth—because with wealth comes the ability to change the lives of those even less fortunate.  Changing others’ lives for the better on not only a mental or spiritual level, but a physical one as well, that’s success.”

“Finding Poe” is the newest release by author Leigh M. Lane (courtesy art)

Lane works as a full time author while her husband – “I’m married to a philosopher” – stands as one of her editors, while she is supported by two fathers – her biological dad and an adopted one who is currently a general manager for a Canadian Football League club.

She also graduated Magna Cum Laude from the University of Nevada at Las Vegas.

“I believe in innate talent, but I also believe in higher education,” Lane said. “Both are, in my opinion, necessary for an author to produce quality work that will stand the test of time.”

“My husband believed in me when nearly no one else did,” Lane added. “Besides my two fathers and two sisters, no one in my family has ever been anything remotely close to supportive. My husband was the one who encouraged me to go back to school, that I might meet my true potential as a writer.”

Lane has worked on her trade full-time for five years now, although she wrote “on the side” since her youth.

“I wrote my first short story when I was around eight and I wrote my first full-length novel when I was 14,” Lane said. “I have nine published novels although I’ve written a baker’s dozen under two different names.”

There are some works Lane has completed which find their way deep into her heart as some of her favorites.

“Myths of Gods is beautiful because it takes religion in a place no other book I’ve encountered has,” Lane said. “World-Mart is a true contribution to society because it dares to look at and emulate the complacency that could very well be our undoing.  Finding Poe is my masterpiece…and you’ll just have to read it for yourself to see why.”

Finding Poe made waves on various charts of the Amazon Kindle charts and has shown some consistent, positive, returns by readers.

Not bad for someone who has found a way to stay “sane” in the embrace of a small lot of staunch supporters as she warded off plenty of doubters.

“If you’ve ever watched the prime time cartoon series The Family Guy, you’ll understand when I say I was the “Meg” of my family,” Lane said. “My mother has never read anything I’ve written and would probably rather eat glass than take a chance on any of my works, and most of the rest of my family would be right in line with her.  If I could say anything to those crazy, selfish, dream-quashing jerks who relish in punishing me for being me, it would be, “Hey, I’m making it without your support; how do you like them apples?”

Another work of Leigh M. Lane is “World Mart” (courtesy art)

Well those apples have given birth to a strong following for Lane, which she markedly appreciates.

“Without a doubt, the most rewarding aspect of my work is receiving reviews or personal e-mails from readers who felt my writing changed them somehow,” Lane said. “While it is most rewarding to receive a note that is thoroughly positive, I must admit that I was nearly just as gratified by a note from a reader who shared that she hated World-Mart, as it made her feel “icky”—but she was glad she had read it.  Like I said, I write to affect people just as much as I do it to entertain.  With that said, the most unattractive aspect to writing is receiving reviews or e-mails from people who did not so much appreciate my work.”

TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT LEIGH M. LANE take a look at

Leigh Lane, Her blog

WERZOMBIES Press thanks you for taking the time to read about our special guest here today. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press  hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

