From the EYES Of…Bruce Blake, the Best Bitts in life include writing

This is a newer version of the cover for “Unfaithful Wings” a novel by Bruce Blake (courtesy art)

By AK DALE

WERZOMBIES PRESS

VICTORIA, B.C. – There is no dark chapter or a shock moment that propelled Bruce Blake to become a writer.

Nah, his was a journey lacking in Hobbits, Orcs, and Gandalfs, or anything resembling a Stand by Me moments.

Bruce Blake just simply like to write.

“I don’ have a dramatic moment that thrust me into writing or it upon me,” Blake said. “I’ve enjoyed it since I was a child and through years of only occasional writing have found that it really balances me. If I don’t write regularly to release the people and events running around in my head, I get grumpy. Nobody wants that.”

Well what some people do want from Blake are his writings as he tells us that fans have downloaded almost 20,000 copies of his various works over the years.

“Part of me feels like I’ve already had success – nearly 20000 people have downloaded my novel, a number which, at one time, was beyond my wildest dreams,” Blake admitted. “But as success comes, goals change. The next step in success is when the government feels the need to collect taxes from my writing income, after that it will be when I replace my day-job income.”

During the day, Blake works as a sales manager at a Ford dealership and asks that people “please don’t hold that against me,” even though most wouldn’t hold making an honest living against him.

But it also can handicap his need to write.

“Time is the biggest obstacle,” Blake said. “I am often up at 5 a.m. to get some writing in before I go to work. The next biggest challenge is staying focused at work when I have a story I’m excited about developing in my head.”

It appears this practice has played itself over often inside Blake’s head and for a very long time.

“The first story I recall writing was a science fiction masterpiece entitled “The Mystery of the Blue Marble” when I was in the fifth-grade,” Blake said. “It was a one- or two-page epic about a mysterious blue marble from space that shoots everyone with a laser blast. My next memorable one was the tale of a man who discovers his wife has been cheating on him. My tenth-grade English teacher loved it but wouldn’t read it aloud in class due to content inappropriate for fifteen-year-olds.”

He considers his “serious” career encompassing the past eight years. He has a novel published and more planned and some short stories on his resume.

“I published my first novel, On Unfaithful Wings, on Kindle back in December and it’s an urban fantasy about a guy named Icarus Fell who has as little luck in death as he did in life,” Blake said. “I also released a book of eight short stories, Backroads and Alleyways, around the same time.”

His second Icarus Fell novel, All Who Wander Are Lost, in which the character feels guilty about the deaths he has caused and decides to go to Hell to retrieve their souls, is due to be available for Kindle in mid-July.

“My four-part epic fantasy follows the journey of a farmer forced into military service who is then cursed by a shaman to take the blood of the fallen king to a Necromancer, the last hope for the kingdom to survive a brutal war against an army of the undead,” Blake said. “Books 1 and 2 will be out before the end of summer, books 3 and 4 by the end of the year.”

Blake and his wife, a top burlesque performer in Canada have raised two children while giving birth to Best Bitts Production publishing company. Of course writing always trumps what he prefer doing out of long laundry list of things to do.

Bruce Blake and his wife (courtesy photo)

“The most rewarding aspect of writing is when I know I’ve made a connection with the reader, that they really got/felt what I was trying to create,” Blake said. “It’s like watching your child grow and become successful based on advice you’ve given them. The unattractive is when there is no reaction at all, positive or negative. When nobody is reading my work, it creates an emptiness inside, a feeling of helplessness; writing a novel is a lot of work to go through to not even have someone hate it.”

Of course the strength of Independent publishing is the ability to fix the ‘oops’ that can rear its occasional ugly head.

“Part of the beauty of Indie publishing is that it effectively eliminates this statement,” Blake said. “My works are published electronically and POD, so I can change the source material anytime I want. If I do, I would certainly wish to take back the copies already out there to fix whatever might need fixing.”

One thing area that truly kept Blake moving forward was the support of teachers during his earlier days and more so now, his better half.

“There were certainly teachers who offered support when I was younger, but it is my wife who has truly been my inspiration,” Blake said. “Not only has she been supportive and encouraging every step of the way (she cried when she finished reading my first novel because she was so proud of me), but I watch her every day as she strives to fulfill her passion. I can’t help but want to do the same.”

TO FIND OUT MORE on BRUCE BLAKE check out:

AMAZON  

TWITTER  

FACEBOOK    

BLOG

“UNFAITHFUL WINGS”

WERZOMBIES Press thanks you for taking the time to read about our special guest here today. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press  hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

3 responses to “From the EYES Of…Bruce Blake, the Best Bitts in life include writing

  1. Wonderful, Bruce! I enjoyed learning more about your early experiences with writing and how educators helped spark the confidence you needed to grow. I look forward to reading your work~

Leave a Reply

