From the Eyes OF…Mandy DeGeit, she fought the press…she won

Mandy DeGeit was too legit to quit in her fight against an unethical small press publisher.

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES PRESS

 OTTAWA, Ont. – This is meant to be a story about Mandy DeGeit. It will be.

Yet, many people on the Independent writing circuit know of this young woman quite well if for great reason wrapped in a horror tale.

DeGeit is that woman…you knooooowwwwthat woman.

She is the woman who took on a small press operator of multiple organizations and appears to have sent him packing.

The Press will not mention this man, nor his operations. This is Mandy DeGeit’s story.

That is the irony.

She has taken  this chapter of her life to do something special.

After her short story,  She Makes Me Smile was butchered without consent and DeGeit subsequently handled unprofessionally by aforementioned press operator, she cleaned up her work and self-published her first effort through Amazon Kindle. She then decided to charge $.99 and use much of the profits to help reimburse other writers who lost the opportunity to be published in the anthology pulled from prospective release due to DeGeit’s actions against a renowned dirt bag in the profession.

Now, all she wants to do is to be known, rightfully, for her writing abilities.

“I consider myself a creepy fiction writer at the moment, but I also have been known to also write erotica and am currently trying my hand at an action/comedy story,” DeGeit said. “I started writing when I was a kid, mostly poetry and descriptive paragraphs at first but I was always drawn to horror more than any other genre. I read a lot of horror growing up and my writing has always been greatly influenced by what I’m reading.”

Her career launched only a few years back.

“I started writing for a career, or trying to, after attending Horrorfind 13 in 2011,” DeGeit said. “It was after meeting the authors in attendance, I realized that publication was not something reserved for the likes of King and Palahniuk. Shortly after HF13, I wrote She Makes Me Smile.

She had kick started her career with short story writing while her first novel effort is currently halfway done.

“She Makes Me Smile,” is the story by Mandy DeGeit that gave birth to a movement that rocked the web last month (submitted art)

Funny thing is, she could potentially have been done already.

“I work from home (as CEO of IdleHands.com), so it’s a little easier for me to sit and write when I want to,” DeGeit said. “My problems start with me. Between Facebook and all the other platforms of distraction online, I have a hard time focusing on what I’m supposed to be doing. I love talking to people and that will be either my downfall or my key to success.”

Of course, if she was smart enough to beat someone allegedly ‘bigger’ than her in the field of writing that doesn’t mean she can’t outsmart herself too.

“Motivation comes at 5-6 a.m. when no one else is awake to provide distraction,” DeGeit said. “The stimulus for my writing comes throughout the day. I always get ideas as I’m rambling off my brain-thoughts to friends. I take notes all throughout the day on my IPhone and then write about it the next morning.”

With her writing career taking off a little bit at a time, DeGeit sees the little victories in the profession. She’s done this while really hoping her career takes off for her actual talent and not for putting up her proverbial dukes.

“I’m just starting, so everything is a success right now,” DeGeit said. “Even just making sure I write something every single day is an achieved goal. I would love to have a book published eventually. No wait, let me rephrase… a best-selling book. I suppose that’s one of the reasons why we all write. I always thought the most rewarding aspect of my work seeing my name on a book in some bookstore somewhere, but I think that is more of a vanity/ego thing for myself. I figured out why I do what I do, the day I was reading for the first time in front of a bunch of people. I read a short, flash story and at the end, someone from the audience gasped. I write to make people feel something.”

Well her writing may do this and her actions, standing up for the new and even old self-published writers in the community as more than made people feel:

They stood up and took notice.

“Hi my name is Mandy DeGeit…you might remember me from such scandals as the ‘My story’s been (butchered) fiasco,’” DeGeit said.  “I hate publishers who take advantage of new writers. I’ve heard so many horror stories from other authors and it saddens me. I want to help make a point to people who may consider pulling something like this again.”

FOR MORE INFORMATION on MANDY DEGEIT’S works and CAUSE:

Her Blog

Mandy’s Blog about the “cause”

She Makes Me Smile has been re-released it on Amazon for $0.99 and 50 percent of proceeds go to a fund to pay the authors in the now defunct anthology – Cavalcade of Terror. Anything surpassing that will be put towards hiring a contract lawyer to take a look at our rights as authors. For more information see the following link:

“She Makes Me Smile” at Amazon

WERZOMBIES Press thanks you for taking the time to read about our special guest here today. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press  hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

