From the EYES Of…David Warren, a wrong move turn, an author born

David Warren is an author on the rise (courtesy photo)

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES PRESS

BLANDON, Pa. – All they wanted to do is take their son to the movies.

Well, some movie.

So says author David Warren.

“When I was young, my parents took me to see the movie Poltergeist, assuming it was a kid’s ghost story,” Warren said. “Obviously, they were wrong…clown scene anyone? After that, I started sneaking Dean Koontz and Stephen King books off of my mom’s bookshelf  and it was then that I fell in love with the horror genre and have been writing about things that go bump in the night ever since.”

That left turn right before The Rescuers and an accidental attendance to a movie that would curse many involved in the filming was only a blessing for people who ultimately would read Warren’s eventual works as a novelist.

“I have been writing since I was nine years old,” Warren said. “I signed my first official contract in November of 2010. My horror novel, JEST, was named in the top 100 horror books of 2011 by horrorstew.com and can be seen on horrornews.net and in SCREAM Magazine, the UK’s #1 horror magazine. REPLICA, my newest thriller, is set to be released this fall.”

Warren lives in Blandon with his wife and small children where he enjoys spending time with them along with reading and gaming.

That’s when he isn’t writing.

“The important thing to remember is that I write because I love it, not to become a millionaire,” Warren said. “When you look at it as a chore and not a delight, it becomes difficult to concentrate and produce quality work. You just have to have self-discipline and set aside the time to get the writing done.”

Warren is represented by Brighton Publishing and has enjoyed the fruits of variable levels of successes and pitfalls.

“A positive is whenever someone tells me that they enjoyed my work,” Warren said. “To me, there is no greater reward as an author. The unattractive aspects of being an author for me all the rewrites that follow once the manuscript is completed. You go over the story so many times that you get sick of reading your own book. On top of that, you need to be prepared for negative feedback. When you open yourself up to the public, you have to expect that some people just aren’t going to like your book. It’s like you showing somebody a picture of your baby and them telling you that it is the ugliest thing that they had ever seen.”

Maybe it was the support of his family and more specifically his mother which made Warren have a stronger fortitude in the face of adversity and rejection.

“When I was going through the submissions process, one editor in particular was so scathing in their response that I actually stopped writing for some time,” Warren admitted. “I then realized that I would never be able to please everyone and that I had to get thicker skin. I also knew that I could produce quality work. Since then, I have signed a two-book deal with a commercial publisher and was paid an author advance. I would actually thank that person for helping me to realize that not everyone will like my work and that I needed to get over it.”

Warren’s pragmatism appears to get him over the hills of negativity and give him the strength to not outleap his highs while keeping his goals realistic.

“Jest” is one of the works of author David Warren (courtesy art)

“Just about everyone would say to be rich and famous,” Warren said. “Whereas I am certainly not opposed to that, a more realistic goal for me would be to get a nice sized fan base and to produce quality work for them. As long as my readers don’t feel like they wasted their money when they buy my book, I am successful.”

So as Warren builds his fan base and continues to find his niche, he will move forward with hopes of being a person learning from his previous mistakes to become better from them.

“Before I was commercially published, I had self-published a book for my family and friends,” Warren said. “Looking back, I wish that I had never done that. The book was poorly edited and the cover was horrendous. Someday I may actually rewrite that book if my publisher feels that it is marketable.”

FOR MORE INFORMATION on DAVID WARREN

“JEST” on AMAZON

“JEST” on HORRORNEWS.NET

“REPLICA’S” PRESS RELEASE

SMASHWORDS Author BIO

BARON BOOK REVIEW of “JEST

 

WERZOMBIES Press thanks you for taking the time to read this column/article. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

