From the EYES Of…Eric Shelman, sings a little, writes a lot

Eric Shelman (courtesy photo)

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES PRESS

CORAL, Fla – There has to be some kind of irony when explaining the writing exploits of Eric A. Shelman.

First, he writes about serial killers, zombies, and evil sorcery whenever he can.

However, when on the clock, he is an insurance claims adjuster.

Oh, yes, there’s irony here…

Here’s wondering what the premium is for protecting against The Dawn of the Dead.

My late brother Gary came home one day in the late 1980s and told us he’d started to write,” Shelman said. “I read one of his stories, and I thought, ‘I’d like to do that, too.  I love writing!’  So I began to write what I loved to read, primarily supernatural fiction.  Years passed, and here I am, with six books out.”

A follower of Dean Koontz, Ken Follett, and Stephen King, Shelman’s career has been buoyed by a supportive wife of almost 26-years, Linda.

“I read her all my chapters immediately after I write them, so when the books come out, she has to read them all over again, because I give it to her in little pieces,” Shelman said. “Linda, has always supported my desire to write, and has always allowed me the time I said I needed to get it done.  When I quit writing for ten years, it was not due to her, but due to my own issues, drifting away from something I loved.  When I decided it was time to get back into it, she fell right into my schedule and let me read each paragraph to her as each book was written.  She’s been my strongest influence.”

He also has a brother, Don, who can count on for some direction.

“Don and I bounce plot ideas around for my zombie series after we knock back a few and settle in with a cigar,” Shelman said. “It’s awesome fun, and I end up using lots of what he comes up with.  He’s not getting a dime, though.”

Shelman and his wife own Select Realty Associates Inc. and Dolphin Moon Publishing.

So the author/insurance agent is quite busy, but never appears to slow down.

Eric Shelman knows how to stir up the scares (courtesy art)

“I don’t let obstacles get in my way,” Shelman said. “My first book was written in my spare time, as have all my books since.  I dedicate myself to between one-and-a-half and two hours per night of writing. My vision of success is having a huge number of people waiting for my next book to come out, very much like a King or Koontz.  I’d also like to provide a nice retirement from steady book sales as I get to be old.”

Shelman has had a consistent run of titles, receiving his first pay for any kind of work back in 1993 with a short story. Two years later he began his first book that took plenty of time researching and editing before it was ready for market.

That book, released in 1999, was Out of the Darkness: The Story of Mary Ellen Wilson,

that tells the dramatic story of the beginning of the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) and of a child’s rescue from a troubled life.

“You should read my stuff if you like being entertained, if you enjoy reading about characters that capture your heart and become friends to you,” Shelman said. “Read my stuff if you want intelligent, unpretentious fiction that reflects what you might do in a given situation.  Read my stuff if you like an author who respects his readers enough to know what you want … and who delivers it.

“Of course, that’s just my opinion.  I could be wrong.”

Shelman listens to the music of “Joe Satriani, Malmsteen, Buckethead, anything without lyrics,” so that may explain Shelman’s blossoming career as a YouTube sensation to consider as well.

“Once a year I sing at a Halloween party for our friends, the Babbs,” Shelman said. “But I do have over 200 videos of me singing tons of songs, both old and new.  They’re on YouTube.  www.youtube.com/ericandlindashelman.”

FOR MORE INFORMATION on ERIC SHELMAN,

Follow this link to a video trailer I made for my Dead Hunger series.  It features a short author reading from Dead Hunger: The Flex Sheridan Chronicle.  Hope you like it!  http://youtu.be/8az2SiqIMeQ

Here’s me talking about Dead Hunger, kind of an introduction to what was in my head while I wrote it.

http://youtu.be/gCNTJfhRSPA

Here’s me singing a little zombie Christmas song, called “Have Yourself a Zombie Killing Christmas.”

http://youtu.be/kF9pjQMHZFA

WERZOMBIES Press thanks you for taking the time to read this column/article. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

