From the EYES Of…Adam Baxter, saying ‘hello there’ to the craft

Adam Baxter (courtesy photo)

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES PRESS

POTTERSPURY, U.K. – He had an unrequited love he failed to quench for many years.

Then finally one day, American-born and England resident Adam Baxter got his groove with the pen/keyboard and met her…finally.

He had finally introduced himself to the official art of writing where he now pens his works through the alter ego channels – and name – of Ash Hartwell.

“I always had a desire to write but never actually got around to doing it,” Baxter said. “Then I decided to take a correspondence course in writing. It covered all types of writing not just creative writing. I joined a writers group and attended a talk by Iain Pattinson who acted like a sign post, pointing me to where I wanted to be.”

Married 13 years to wife Nicki and being a father of four children, Baxter writes in peace and quiet and draws his inspiration from mythology, history, literature, music, life, and the phrase, ‘what if?’”

But with a career as a care professional the author and hopeful editor still battles to find time to ply his craft.

“It’s almost impossible at times,” Baxter said. “I do not write as much as I would like as I have other family issues that are more important. I do hope to be able to write successfully full time one day.”

He had his first story accepted for publication at just past midnight of Halloween night and since then had 12 stories published for various anthologies.

His recent tales, Eating for Two and Siren’s Diner are diverse in subjects ranging from cannibals to ancient mythology respectively. Both will appear in a new anthology realeased by Static Movement.

Now, Baxter is looking into becoming an editor.

“I am just about to move across that dark veil into editing and will be producing an anthology called The Cult Of Celebrity,” he said. “I have one more short story to complete then I will be starting on my first novel.”

His experiences have given him plenty of recollections of the plusses and minuses of the professional writing world.

“I expect getting a fan letter from someone who felt inspired by one of my stories would be right at the top of rewarding moments,” he said. “But it’s never happened so I’ll settle for getting published. The most unattractive aspect is that it can take me away from the family while my head is in a world full of zombies and serial killers.”

Baxter was definitely spurred on by a meeting with someone quite big in the blood and guts landscape.

Beware of Adam…oops…Ash Hartwell! (courtesy art)

“Before I started writing I met George A. Romero and he personally signed a promo leaflet from Night Of The Living Dead,” Baxter shared. “He wrote ‘stay scared’. It now sits on my desk. Those are some wise words.”

His future works could take a different turn from the blood and gore Baxter is used to.

“I have always had an interest in the history of the US in the 1950s and 60s,” he said. “I was influenced by the cold war, civil rights and the way in which movies of that time portrayed the views of the time. Such as The Day The Earth Stood Still and Invasion Of The Bodysnatchers. So maybe I’ll tackle something like that with a more modern relevance.”

Baxter, a fan of Richard Laymon, James Patterson, and George Orwell, is a man well supported and with a level sense of what to appreciate.

“My wife believes in me, even when I don’t and my kids just think it’s cool to say, ‘Dad writes horror stories,’” Baxter said. “I am proud of what I have written. If others like it then that’s cool, but I write what I want to write. If that gets me untold riches and Bram Stoker awards then that is a burden I’ll have to live with.”

FOR MORE INFORMATION on ADAM BAXTER and his WORKS,

ASH HARTWELL on Facebook

ASH HARTWELL in the U.K.

The Press thanks you for taking the time to read this column/article. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

