From the EYES Of…Peter N. Dudar, writing within castles of reality

Peter N. Dudar (courtesy photo)

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES PRESS

LISBON FALLS, Maine – When it comes to horror writing there is no doubt Peter N. Dudar delivers.

Of course that comes even before he sits down with keyboard in hand.

For Dudar he balances his desire to write with a responsibility to the public as a postal worker on the night shift in Lisbon Falls.

“I love the craft of writing, but I hate the business end of it,” Dudar said. “You have to wear two hats:  That of the author and that of the salesman.  I hate being a salesman.  I hate being in the limelight.  When writing is a priority, I make time to get it done, especially when I have commitments and deadlines.  I’ve never harbored any notions of making writing my full-time gig.  For me, it’s more of a hobby, and a nice way to gratuitously garner attention.”

This must be a smart assessment for a man who has been published with Nightscape Press an up-and-coming player in small press horror world.

The cover of Peter N. Dudar’s debut novel (courtesy art)

“I’ve always loved reading, and I’ve always loved horror movies,” Dudar said. “Even as a kid I loved monsters and weird stuff.  It wasn’t until ninth-grade that I fell in love with horror literature.  My teacher had us read Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House, and I absolutely loved it.  I never knew books could have the same kind of power that monster movies had.  And once I started reading Stephen King, my gears just sort of clicked.”

Dudar began writing in 1995 after moving Maine from New York, where the graduated from State University of New York at Albany.

His college education sure helped, but in the long run, writing is in essence…writing.

“I did get my degree in English, but the reality is that if I hadn’t gone to college, I’d have read anyway and figured out most of what I know,” Dudar said. “The real learning came when I tried to get into the business.  You don’t need a degree for that.”

One also doesn’t need a degree to feel a sense of accomplishment or at least know where that sense is born.

“For me to feel successful in this business, I think I’d have to have enough fiction published for other writers to know who I am and actually recognize something I wrote,” Dudar said. “I hate going to conventions and feeling more like a gushing fan than an actual writer, myself.  I’d like to feel like I belong.”

Dudar has had many stories appear in various anthologies until finally penning his debut novel, A Requiem for Dead Flies, that will come out by the end of this month through Nightscape.

I like seeing my name in print,” Dudar admitted. “I like being recognized by friends and peers.  My stories aren’t changing the world, but if they make someone’s day a little better, that’s pretty cool.”

Dudar usually writes only “when I have ideas to work with,” and mainly in silence. He doesn’t claim to have many hobbies anymore and alternates jobs between parenting, writing, and postal work.

“I keep pretty busy,” Dudar said. “But I do enjoy fishing when I have the chance and building sand castles.”

So when he is not building on the beach with wife Amy and their four-year-old daughter, Vivian, who they adopted from China, Dudar will continue working on his craft and may tackle an old and hotly discussed moment in time.

“There is one moment in history that I would like to tackle, and that would be the crucifixion of Jesus,” Dudar said. “But I can’t say in what capacity because I don’t people stealing my cool story idea.”

FOR MORE INFORMATION on PETER N. DUDAR and his WORKS,

ON AMAZON

 

The Press thanks you for taking the time to read this column/article. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

