From the EYES Of…Michael Meekse, horror in a child’s eyes, pays off with the pen

Michael Meeske (courtesy photo)

By AK Dale

WERZOMBIES PRESS

FT. LAUDERDALE, Fla. – While most kids were watching Power Rangers or Tom and Jerry there was a good chance a young Michael Meeske was doing something a bit different.

“I was naturally attracted to horror as a child and always enjoyed the late-night Saturday scary movie,” Meeske said. “Now I write across genres, but I’m most comfortable with works that elicit strong emotions, and also those that leave you panting for more, real page turners. I love the Gothic: sinister, dark and creepy without the gore. The highest compliment to me would be to write literary page turners, a combination that I strive for in both my current books.”

It appears that while he spent his youth absorbed in stories of ghouls and horrific imagery, it may have paid off in his later years as he has now worked his way into the publishing world.

A management team staff member for a local credit union, Meeske like many others of his kind holds onto the hope of becoming a self-sufficient writer even if he has worked in other platforms.

“I have two degrees from the University of Kansas in Lawrence, a B.A. in American Studies and a B.S.J. in Journalism,” Meeske said. “For several years I worked for a newspaper in Kansas before moving to Boston to work in advertising/marketing.”

Now he works enough as it is, albeit out of the full-time paid writing world and Meeske fights to make sure he manages time to hone his craft.

“I have a very demanding job which I love, so the biggest obstacle for me is feeling drained when I come home,” Meeske said. “Sometimes it is really hard to drag myself to the computer. I’d rather vege.”

“Poe’s Mother” by Michael Meeske examiners what if life imitated art (courtesy art)

When he does find the time, Meeske moves into a world of quiet corridors within the synapses created from his surroundings.

“I find the best stimulus for me, after coming home from the day job, is nightfall,” Meeske said. “I love writing my books when it’s dark. That doesn’t seem to matter so much during the weekend when I write mornings and afternoons, but I do love the jolt the evening gives me. I never listen to music – I find it distracting.”

The art of writing and the gift of reading are two aspects of his life that Meeske has kept an audience with for most of his life.

“I really have always had a life in books,” he said. “Reading and writing have been a part of my life since I can remember. I may have been the youngest member ever of The Science Fiction Book Club of America. I joined when I was seven years old. I realized then that sci-fi is one of the hardest genres to do well. I’ve never touched it. For many years, I took piano from a number of talented teachers. On my 50th birthday, I performed my own pieces, as well as classical selections for loved ones and friends at Steinert Hall in Boston.”

Now as a man who enjoys his writing, Meeske appreciates the support he gets by those he has been able to reach via his works.

The most rewarding aspect of my work is my validation as a writer by my readers,” Meeske said. “You can’t beat it when a reader tells you that your book is ‘amazing,’ or on a par with your literary idols. However, I have felt many times in this long journey like conspiratorial events were trying to wring the literary life out of me. Rejection, rejection, rejection. No sales. You have to go on. If you are a writer, you will.”

With a will, Meeske may find a way to create one piece that he can someday call his Tour D’ Force.

“My magnum opus has been tugging at my heart for years, but I’m not prepared to write it. I don’t know if I ever will be,” Meeske said. “All I’ll say at this point (because I do have a superstition about works in progress) is it’s about genius and our attraction to music.”

FOR MORE INFORMATION on MICHAEL MEESKE and his WORKS,

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

The Press thanks you for taking the time to read this column/article. The Press is an Alan Dale creation and is inspired by his DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY (DNA) book trilogy which launches in July with his first novel, “Code Flesh.” The Press hopes you consider subscribing to the site and look forward to more interviews, news features, columns, and many more in the future. Once again, thank you for joining us here at the Press!

Leave a Reply

